Small Town, Big Dreams

It often seems to be the ones from the smaller towns have the biggest dreams.

And Madison Galloway dreams of making it big.
IMG_9071
The 15-year-old from Fergus, Ontario – a community of under 20,000 nestled along the banks of the Grand River best known for its pastoral tranquility – is a singer, songwriter and musician who took to the Brampton Garden Square stage for the downtown Friday Night Live Spotlight concert series.
IMG_9099
“I want music to be my job,” she said. “I want to tour.”
Music has been an important part of her life growing up.
“I’ve been playing piano since I was six and I started taking guitar lessons about three years and teaching myself other instruments,” said Galloway following her gig in front of an older but appreciative crowd.
“I love it, actually,” she said. “I love writing my own stuff. I just started writing this year and I have five of my songs on my CD.”
IMG_9068
Galloway’s cover song selection ranged from the obvious for a young highschooler – Taylor Swift – to another Canadian singer/songwriter she probably heard through her parents’ music collection – Neil Young.
IMG_9095
Following her show, Galloway signed a few copies of her debut CD which was, quite literally, hot of the presses.
“I actually just finished packaging them right before coming here,” she said. “I was up until six in the morning printing out and cutting up CD covers and putting them into jewel cases.”
IMG_9102
Galloway packs up in Brampton and takes her tour crew – her parents and grandparents – to Mansfield, Ontario, just north of Orangeville, for a Saturday session at the local classic cars show.
“Anywhere there’s somewhere to play, I’ll go play,” she said.

2 thoughts on “Small Town, Big Dreams

Leave a Reply

